MAZE RUNNER

MAZE RUNNER

Concept: A teenager is sent against his will into some kind of containment where he must be self sufficient with a group of other adolescent boys. They must learn to work together survive. The only way out seems to be a giant maze that surrounds them. But there may be more surprises than they think.

Acting: So the acting in this film. Well. It’s very hit or miss. Most of these actors are young and still trying to perfect their craft. Dylan O’ Brian does a decent job of portraying Thomas. The same goes for Blake Cooper as Chuck, Aml Ameen as Alby and Thomas Brodie-Sangster as Newt. The only actor who I thought did really well was Will Poulter as Gally. He really made me hate him as the villain. Although I wouldn’t necessarily call Gally a villain.He just seems to be trying to do what he thinks is best. I think Poulter could have a very fine carter as an actor if he plays roles as well as he did here.

The girl however Teresa played by  Kaya Scodelario, has virtually no development and in my opinion is one of the most stale actresses I have ever seen. I do not know if she has done other work, and I’d love to give her a second chance but she just had no soul in this film and I thought she really didn’t even matter much to the story. I hope she develops more in the future movies. (C’mon we know they are going to finish it out).

Cinematography: I don’t really have anything to say about this matter of the film. To me there was nothing special about it. Some shots looked really nice and they tried to give off this idea that the maze was huge through the shots, and it kind of worked, but nothing really made me go “wow”. We mainly only deal with one section of the maze. I feel like so much more could have been done. Overall the cinematography was ok, but it could have done more.

Direction: So I think Wes Ball did the best he could here. This is a young adult novel on the hype train that is the hunger games. With now every young adult novel being turned into a movie it was just a matter of time until the maze runner got adapted. The structure of the movie is fine. In fact more than fine. It follows a clear concise narrative line. My gripe however is how Wes didn’t alter some contradictions I found in the movie.

In one scene Thomas is being yelled at for not being able to remember this girl. When none of the boys can remember their past, why are they yelling at Thomas for not remembering his? They may be adolescent boys and not care but I found this a little off putting to the movie.

Score: So the soundtrack again, like the rest of the movie was ok. Nothing special. It supported the film instead of adding to it. To me a soundtrack should always add, never support.

Opinion: It’s an ok movie. The best thing it has going for it is the plot. The acting is mostly stale, with a few gems, the score is in the background and the directing could use some work, even if the narrative structure was a nice refresher on the standard formula, after I have been watching so many films with non linear and non traditional story lines.

Watch-ability: One and Done. I saw this once. I’ll probably never watch it again.

Overall Grade: C

Nothing Special. Good time the first time but no desire to re-watch. This is the truest definition i can give of what a C movie means to me. And the maze runner is just that.

Leave a Reply

